Updates, News and New Implementations

Even though I have been quiet for a while, things are a lot busy.

I have been spending a lot of time on preparing myself to get a PMI certication and become a PMP. I had classes with the PMBOK while at College, I participated on several training courses after that, I have read many books… and even then, I don’t feel ready to apply for the certification.

It is part of my daily tasks, but what makes me believe I am not ready are the subtleties of things and some of the questions I remember from College, when studying that and thinking about applying for the certification.

On the IT field, I have been playing more with org-mode and I am almost ready with making it “talk” to my Google Calendar. Here are some hints for that:

http://emacsworld.blogspot.com/2011/05/integrating-emacs-org-mode-and-google.html

http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.emacs.help/80824

http://code.google.com/p/googlecl/

And, I am also happy with finally being able to enable the transparent background on Emacs. I have added this code to my .emacs (actually, I use org-mode to manage it as well, so the process was a bit different, but the idea is the same):

(defun djcb-opacity-modify (&optional dec)
  "modify the transparency of the emacs frame; if DEC is t, decrease the transparency, otherwise increase it in 1%-steps"
  (let* ((alpha-or-nil (frame-parameter nil 'alpha)) ; nil before setting           (oldalpha (if alpha-or-nil alpha-or-nil 100))
          (newalpha (if dec (- oldalpha 1) (+ oldalpha 1))))
    (when (and (>= newalpha frame-alpha-lower-limit) (<= newalpha 100))
      (modify-frame-parameters nil (list (cons 'alpha newalpha))))))

 ;; C-8 will increase opacity (== decrease transparency)  ;; C-9 will decrease opacity (== increase transparency  ;; C-0 will returns the state to normal (global-set-key (kbd "C-8") '(lambda()(interactive)(djcb-opacity-modify)))
(global-set-key (kbd "C-9") '(lambda()(interactive)(djcb-opacity-modify t)))
(global-set-key (kbd "C-0") '(lambda()(interactive)
                               (modify-frame-parameters nil `((alpha . 100)))))

The source for that is available at http://emacs-fu.blogspot.com/2009/02/transparent-emacs.html

The original code had the steps move in steps of 10%. I have changed the code a little to make it move in 1% steps.

And, finally, this weekend it was Valentine’s Day here in Brazil. It was really cold – with some ice on the glass ceiling from my neighbor – what contributed a lot to the romance and for my wife and I spending the time together.

Every time I am able to spend some time like this, I stop and think about how many times I am doing that and if it is not something that I need to improve. It is hard to manage all the work tasks, studies, and still get some free time to spend without worrying, but I am sure that my Number One priority should be my family.

I think that these updates were not enough for the time I didn’t post, but I am trying. This blog already has more – relevant – posts than anything I was able to keep before (maybe Multiply had more posts, but it was a different time in my life).

3 responses to “Updates, News and New Implementations

    • To me it is the peace of mind that seeing the nice wallpapers that I have can bring.

      I use almost all of my windows maximized — and I have several virtual desktops, dedicated to different things, such as console, emacs, web, web development, social updates, file navigation, etc. — so having them transparent is one manner to enjoy the backgrounds. If they weren’t like that, then I would have to switch to an empty desktop or minimize the window…

Leave a Reply

