How do you organize your desktop?

I try avoiding too much files (be them images, PDFs, shortcuts) on my Desktop.  I usually run all commands from the menu that I can open with ALT+F2 on KDE so having shortcuts on my desktop make no sense…

But even with all the care I can dedicate to cleaning it, my desktop insists on being full of icons after a few days…  I have removed about 30 files from the desktop now: several PDFs I downloaded for reading, some images that I thought were funny, videoclips…

I have directories named “ToRead”, “Photos”, “Videos”, “Musics”, “Documents” and so on, but sometimes it looks like they aren’t enough.

So, how do you organize yourself and find what you need quickly?

2 responses to “How do you organize your desktop?

  1. Quite similar: Some archive folders like Photos, screenshots, finished projects etc.
    All files are stored within these. Additional trash, my computer (strange I nearly never use them) and one folder for every running project.
    Sometimes some temporary files etc.
    Everything I need is either in the projects folder or I have look through the archives.

    I think it would maybe help you to decrease icon size.

    • But you know what, with the Desktop Folder widget, things get easier. You can have one for each directory you want to see at your desktop screen and then you can limit / organize things better.

      I really liked this addition of KDE 4.

Leave a Reply

