KDE 4.1 on OpenSuSE 11.0

I’ve added the Factory repository to the list of repositories I use to update my OpenSuSE install and now I am running KDE 4.1.

There were a lot of bugfixes and it looks like we’ll have a more stable interface when OpenSuSE 11.1 comes out.  This is great and I am anxious for the next enhancements we’ll get ’til there.

I am now using two plasmoids to show the files available on my home directory and on my Desktop directory.  No other icons on the Desktop, as with the KDE 4 that was released with OpenSuSE 11.  This, in my humble opinion, makes the process of creating new shortcuts easier and makes the Desktop area cleaner and more efficient.

I’ve also added a plasmoid for “post-it” like notes on the Desktop.  This helps taking quick notes for things that I am changing or that I’m about to revisit / work in the very very near future (something that I saw while leaving work and want to get back to it at home, for example).

2 responses to “KDE 4.1 on OpenSuSE 11.0

  1. Pingback: Boycott Novell » Do-No-Evil Saturday - Part I: SUSE, Xandros, and Turbolinux Catch-up

  2. Pingback: KDE 4.2 on OpenSuSE 11.0 « Crazy thinking - Just my Weblog

Leave a Reply

